The Myth of Managed Services (Full MSP vs Partial)

I talk a lot about Managed Services for credit unions. This should be no surprise. I want to be clear about what I mean when I talk about Managed Services. 

Sometimes I can hear people say, “Oh, I use Managed Services for security. …..Someone manages my firewalls and someone does my pen testing……… Someone does this and someone does that……..” 

I am not referring to this type of service at all. 

I am not suggesting that these services aren’t appropriate or warranted. In fact these services are critical as a part of one’s information security program. These are services are Partial MSPs and not Full.

With Full MSPs, I am referring to providers who are actually accountable for the security of your credit union. I am referring to an MSP that is responsible for the day to day operations of IT in addition to the compliance needs of the credit union. These are MSPs that actually can ‘stand in’ on behalf of the CU and answer questions for the auditors.

I hope this clarifies my meaning, and that if you have not been thinking of Managed Services in the context now you can.

Leave a Reply

